About Us

The Southwestern Illinois Flood Prevention District Council (FPD Council) was formed in July 2009 by Madison, Monroe and St. Clair counties in direct response to the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) announcement of its intention to deaccredit the 74-mile levee system protecting the St. Louis Metro East region. FEMA’s decision would effectively designate substantial portions of the American Bottom area of Southwestern Illinois as a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) on new flood insurance rate maps, with devastating economic impact on our region. Recognizing the urgency of this situation, regional leaders successfully sought authorization from the Illinois General Assembly to impose a ¼ percent sales tax to pay for any necessary improvements to the levee system and created independent Flood Prevention Districts (FPDs) within each county with the authority to collect the tax. The FPD Council was formed by the three county FPDs as a joint venture to oversee the restoration of the Metro East to protect the lives, property and the economic vitality of the St. Louis Metro East region.

The core functions of the FPD Council are as follows:

  1. Repair and Reconstruction of the Levee Systems – To establish budgets, plans, designs and priorities for the improvement of area levee systems.
  2. Funding the Levee Protection System Improvements – To use the dedicated sales tax revenues to issue bonds, notes or other debt to finance the repair and reconstruction and to seek other funds from federal, state and local governmental or private agencies.
  3. Management and Administrative Functions – To employ a Chief Supervisor of Construction and the Works and other staff as may be needed to carry out the functions of the FPD Council.
  4. Other Functions – To undertake other matters required for the improvement of area levee systems and to assist other organizations in limiting the economic consequences to the area during the time that levee improvements are being made.

Our goal is to achieve certification of the levee system in the three counties at a cost of $150 million or less in under five years, and to limit economic hardship during the time that flood protection is being improved.

FPD Council Board of Directors

The FPD Council Board of Directors includes three representatives from each of the independent County Flood Prevention Districts. FY2018 officers include:


  • President:  John Conrad, Editor and Publisher of the Monroe County Independent and Chair of the Monroe County Flood Prevention District
  • Vice-President: Ron Motil, Attorney with Beatty & Motil Attorneys in Glen Carbon, Illinois and Chair of the Madison County Flood Prevention District
  • Secretary/Treasurer:   Paul Bergkoetter, Business Manager Bergkoetter’s Chevrolet Buick, St. Libory, Illinois and member of the St. Clair County Flood Prevention District


Additional members include:

Madison County Flood Prevention District

  • Jeremy Plank, CFE,CPA
  • Tom Long, Attorney

Monroe County Flood Prevention District

  • Bruce Brinkman, Farmer
  • Ron Polka, retired (formerly Director of Monroe County Highway Department)

St. Clair County Flood Prevention District

  • Debra Moore, Director of Administration – St. Clair County, Illinois (Chair of the St. Clair County Flood Prevention District)
  • Alvin Parks, Jr., Former Mayor of East St. Louis, Illinois

FPD Council Staff

Chuck Etwert
Chief Supervisor of Construction and the Works

2018 Board Meeting Schedule

The FPD Council meets monthly on the third Wednesday of the month, and the general public is welcome to attend at any time to hear the latest on the progress on levee improvements. A link to a PDF of the materials from each meeting is also posted below for added convenience. The Project Status section of this website also provides a summary of the current efforts underway. The following are the dates of meetings for the calendar year 2018.  Meeting dates are subject to action being required by the Council.  Cancellation of a meeting will be posted and distributed one week prior to the meeting date.

Unless otherwise indicted, all meetings will be held at the offices of the Metro East Park and Recreation District at 104 United Drive in Collinsville and will begin at 7:30 a.m.

  • January 17, 2018
  • February 21, 2018
  • March 21, 2018
  • April 18, 2018
  • May 16, 2018
  • June 20, 2018
  • July 18, 2018
  • August 15, 2018
  • September 19, 2018
  • October 17, 2018
  • November 21, 2018
  • December 19, 2018

Click here to view Board Meeting Materials in the Data Center